Red Devils win top awards at high school film festival

by Braden Boss, Video & TV Broadcasting Teacher

Springville High students recently participated in the annual Utah High School Film Festival at SLCC.  Winning videos are linked below:

1st Place - Music Video: Spencer Johnson, Brendon Tolley
1st place - Documentary: Steven Bartholomew
2nd Place - Demo Reel: Steven Bartholomew
3rd Place - Comedy: Bela Romano, Dylan Carter, Steven Bartholomew, Brent Williams
Honorable Mention - Documentary: Steven Bartholomew
Honorable Mention - 6 Second Comedy: Steven Bartholomew
Honorable Mention - 48 Hour Shootout: Steven Bartholomew

It's probably not surprising to see Steven Bartholomew's name so often as he is constantly filming and creating; however, there are so many other people that aren't listed that have participated in and helped out with every production every student makes.  I'm biased, but we have a solid film/broadcasting program here at SHS; and, I'm proud to work with so many talented and dedicated students. Thanks for allowing them to film, even when it might be inconvenient, as it allows them to communicate ideas, opinions, and feelings they may not otherwise share as well as connect with each other. 

Here's the link to the playlist with of this year's entries.

2OTs, Red Devils and Skyhawks end in tie, 0-0

photos by Carey S. White

On Tuesday, April 18, Springville High's Red Devil varisty soccer team hosted the Salem Hills Skyhawks.  After regulation play and 2OT's, the game ended in a tie, 0-0.

2017 Boys Soccer Team:
Ethan Agustin, Morgan Allen, Tanner Allen, Diego Bertrand, Rodrigue Bertrand, Brett Bodily, Carson Bracken, Michael Bravo, Jared Buhler, Fabio Chavez, Devin Cutler, Jacob Dodd, Joel Emmett, Bratten Farris, Dyllan Fellows, Steven Fitzgerald, Trey Frixione, Luke Gleave, Arath Gomez, Brandon Gomez, Joshua Gomez, Christopher Gonzalez, Kevin Gonzalez, Steven Goodrich, Jordan Hancock, Cristobal Hernandez, Carter Jacobson, Brandon Jeppson, Jaymon Jordan, Reagan Kelly, Simon Laraway, Nathan LeFevre, Mateo Lillo Lillo, Tyler Maccabee, Hayden Messick, Michael Monney, Quintan Morrill, Trevor Ollerton, Michael Oman, Gregory Payne, Jacob Puckett, Enrique Quezada, Hunter Ricks, Zachary Smith, Braydon Tijerina, Marc Truscott, Jair Vazquez, Corbin White, Andrew Yazzie

Math, Cryptography, and Cyber Security Conference

by Carey S. White, SHS News Adviser

On Tuesday, April 18, thirty Springville High students in Math, Web Development, and Computer Science traveled to attend the UVU Math, Cryptography, and Cyber Security Conference.  This is was an all-day conference including workshops in math and cyber security and a campus tour.

Events for the Week of April 17, 2017


Monday, Apr 17:
(4pm) Softball @ Spanish Fork

Tuesday, Apr 18:
Dance Company Auditions
(3:30pm) Baseball @ Uintah
(4pm) Boys’ Soccer vs Salem Hills

Wednesday, Apr 19:
(7am) Honors Breakfast (by invitation), Little Theatre
(11:30am) E4A Leadership Council Meeting

Thursday, Apr 20:
Great Utah Shakeout
(3:30pm) Softball @ Payson
(3:30pm) Baseball vs Uintah
(3:30pm) Tennis vs Spanish Fork
(5:30pm) Girls’ Basketball Spring Fundraiser

Friday, Apr 21:
Track @ Juab High School
(9am) Career Fair
(4pm) Boys’ Soccer vs Uintah

Saturday, Apr 22:
(10am) Volleyball Open Gym
(5pm) Promenade (seniors only), SHS
(8pm) Prom, UVCC 3rd floor

For more information, please visit the School Calendar

Chris Frossard, Springville High Teacher of the Year

Nebo School District News

Chris has a work ethic and desire to make a difference in young people’s lives. He keeps students fully engaged in the learning process. Chris sets high standards, and students know they can trust him. He gives them the confidence they need to succeed. He gives students additional support before and after school. Chris has a passion for teaching students and is a powerful influence not only in math, but in students’ lives.

Nebo Teachers of the Year
See full article at:

Lady Red Devils Golf in full swing

photos by Alexia Gornichec, Yearbook

Lady Red Devils girls golf is currently in second place in region after the first two of seven tournaments.  Jessey Simons is also in second place individually in the region. 

Girls Golf Team Members:
Cambria Ball, Stahle Bard, Alyssa Bird, Brooke Bromley, Erin Call, Karlee Clark, Emalee Cutler, Naomi Pruett, Savannah Simmons, Jessey Simons, Nicole Sisk, Samantha Sorensen

Don’t Drive Stupid Assembly

photos by Carey S. White, SHS News Adviser
1 of 25

On Thursday, April 13, Springville High student body had the opportunity to walk through a mockup of motor vehicle crashes and fatalities sponsored by FFA, student council, and Drama Guild.  Many of the Drama Guild members were actors in the assembly; FFA and student council served as guides and actors.

Motor vehicle traffic crashes are a leading cause of injury death among Utah teens ages 15-17. Teenage drivers represented 8% of the licensed drivers, yet they were in nearly one-fourth (21%) of all crashes.  Teens have the lowest seatbelt use of any age group in Utah. Teen drivers were 1.3 times more likely to have a contributing factor in a fatal crash than drivers of other ages, such as:

  • Speeding
  • Failing to stay in the proper lane
  • Overcorrecting
  • Driving distracted (such as distracted by passengers, cell phones, and external distractions)
  • Failing to yield the right of way.

Do you realize that your life or the life of a peer can be lost in one second if you just make the wrong decision, or if you're not driving smart? Our goal is to reduce crashes, injuries and fatalities among teen drivers in our community and our school.

How many of your loved ones would you want to see get seriously hurt in a crash? Zero is our answer too.

As students progressed through this assembly, they were respectful of what they saw and remembering how a life or many lives can be changed in an instant with stupid driving. Some people may think zero is an impossible goal, but when it comes to your life, or the lives of your friends and family, what other number would be acceptable?

The assembly was held in the SHS underground track.